مركز عمان للموارد الوراثية الحيوانية والنباتية

oapgrc

بفضل تنوع الظروف المناخية والجغرافية في سلطنة عمان، فهي تتميز بتنوع بيولوجي انعكس على المستوى الجيني. يضم هذا التجمع الفريد موارد وراثية حيوانية، وبحرية، ونباتية، سواء المستأنسة والبرية، فضلا عن عالم الكائنات الحية الدقيقة.

بناء على التوجيهات السامية لحضرة صاحب الجلالة السلطان قابوس بن سعيد لاستعراض الفرص المتاحة في السلطنة في حماية الموارد الوراثية العالمية، فقد تم إنشاء مركز عمان للموارد الوراثية الحيوانية والنباتية (OAPGRC) قبل مجلس البحث العلمي عام 2012.

تكمن مهمتنا في التشجيع على الاستغلال المستدام والتنوع الجيني في الحيوانات والنباتات والكائنات الدقيقة في عمان كمورد للتراث الطبيعي. كما نهدف إلى تطوير مركز تعاوني لجميع أنشطة الموارد الوراثية الحيوانية والنباتية، بالإضافة إلى مشاركة عملنا مع عالم العلوم وبناء القدرات المحلية المعترف بها في مجال الموارد الوراثية، والترويج للأبحاث العالمية والابتكارات العملية و للتعليم المستدام في القطاعات الاقتصادية والاجتماعية.

بسياستنا، وخبراتنا،  وقدرتنا على البناء، نعمل مع مجموعة متنوعة من والشركاء – ابتداء من المزارعين وانتهاء بالعلماء، مرورا بالمؤسسات الحكومية خلال ثمانية وعشرين برنامجا، يؤمل أن يكونوا داعمين مهمين لتحقيق أهداف المركز. تتضمن البرامج جمع وحفظ البيانات والأبحاث، التوعية وإشراك المجتمع المحلي التي تشمل: التوعية المدرسية والمعارض وورش العمل والمقاهي العلم. كما يفتخر المركز بالترويج عن خدماته عن طريق التواصل مع المدارس وإقامة المعارض العلمية وورش العمل.

يقوم المركز بمشاركة التجارب والخبرات وأفضل الممارسات من خلال المشاركة في مجموعة متنوعة من اللجان والمؤتمرات والندوات والأنشطة التدريبية.

Oman Animal and Plant Genetic Resources Center (OAPGRC)

oapgrc

Oman, thanks to its diverse climatic conditions, size and geography, is blessed with a treasure trove of outstanding biodiversity, an abundance of which is reflected at the genetic level. This unique pool of genetic resources spans the animal, marine, and plant worlds, both domesticated and wild, as well as the world of micro-organisms.

Following His Majesty Sultan Qaboos bin Said’s order to review Oman’s opportunities in protection of its globally significant genetic resources, the Oman Animal and Plant Genetic Resources Center (OAPGRC) was established by The Research Council in 2012.

Its mission is to promote recognition, sustainable exploitation and valuation of genetic diversity inherent in Oman’s animals, plants and microorganisms as a natural heritage resource. Its vision is to develop as a collaborative hub for all animal and plant genetic resources activities; promote the sustainable use of knowledge across economic sectors and social segments; create value from world-class research and practical innovation; share all work with the world of international science and build recognized local capacity in the field of genetic resources.

With policy, expertise and capacity building, and extracting value underpinning all activities, OAPGRC works with a variety of local stakeholders and partners - from farmers to scientists and government organisations - on twenty-eight programs that will help fulfil the remit and achieve the centre’s goals. They include research, data collection, conservation, public awareness and community engagement.

The OAPGRC proudly promotes itself through activities such as school outreach, exhibitions, workshops and science cafés. Furthermore, it shares its experience, expertise and best practice through participation in a variety of committees, conferences, workshops, seminars and training activities.